Nigeria News Hub

BREAKING: S/Africa snubs Nigeria, picked Ghana for Visa Free Countries

0 3,605

Nigeria still behind choice as South Africa’s Department of Home Affairs ticked Ghana among list of seven countries which nationals will be permitted to enter South Africa visa-free.

This is playing out despite the huge volume of trade between Nigeria and South Africa, Nigeria has been denied visa free status, while Ghana is the latest country to be granted a visa-free status by the South African government.

Earlier September 2018, South Africa announced that it was finalising a number of visa waiver agreements with other countries, including Ghana, to allow travellers enter the country without a visa.

Following statement by Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, citizens of the seven countries will be able to enter South Africa without a visa.

In his words: “Tourism will soar if we relax visa requirements for entry into South Africa. We know that Tourism is very important for job creation.

“Of the 193 countries which are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries.

”Of these, 16 are on our continent and are SADC members and 59 are from all over the world,” he said today at a briefing in South Africa.

Loading comment...

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More