Nigeria News Hub

BREAKING: Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs, tasks them to be loyal

0 447

President Mohammadu Buhari Buhari on Tuesday welcomed the resignation of Nigerian Service Chiefs following their immediate retirement.

In a statement made by Femi Adesina, the president’s spokesman noted Buhari made an appointment for a replacement.

President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

The outgoing servicemen include:

1. Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai

2. Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin

3. Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas

1 of 960

4. Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

Extending gratitude, President Buhari described their years in office as ‘overwhelming achievements’ served in ‘efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country’.

He thanked and wished them well in their future endeavors.

The incoming Chief are
Major-General Leo Irabor, in the capacity as Chief of Defence Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, positioning as Chief of Naval Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, replacing Buratai as Chief of Army Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

According to the Special Adviser to the President, Adesina, Buhari congratulates the new Service Chiefs.

He specially tasked them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

This is coming moment Nigerians clamoured for the removal of the chiefs following heightened security tension across states in the country.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More